Update + Link Digest

by necs2010

I officially moved into my NOLA home on Thursday, which means pictures and more coming soon. Unfortunately, this means I don’t have internet access. As I am never without internet access this is sort of a Brave New World for me. Scary.

This week has been a whirlwind of leases, thrift stores, and an embarrassing amount of Wal-Mart shopping, but I am at least settling in. Additionally, I had my first interview in a month and a half today…. fingers crossed.

Since I am writing from a Starbucks I decided to just share some of the things I discovered online in my week of unemployment. Therefore, I present my “Link Digest.”

Music – (500) Days of Weezy – by mysickuncle – A great mashup of the “500 Days of Summer” indie soundtrack with lil wayne. The premise is odd, but the result is absolutely fantastic. I am pretty much addicted to this mixtape.

Politics – “NO SECRETS” – by Raffi Khatchadourian – Great New Yorker piece on Julian Assange, the founder of WikiLeaks, and his organization that released over 90,000 sensitive army documents on the US involvement in Afghanistan. A great read. A fascinating person.

Education“Obama Insists On Performance Standards For Teachers” – Marc Ambinder – Barack Obama spoke at the Urban League this week defending his Administration’s cutting edge education policies and pushed forward on greater teacher accountability.

YouTube“Three Minute Philosophy” – Great video series giving three minute reviews of famous philosophical theories. Wish I had this in any one of my philosophy classes. Seriously.

NOLA – The Bridge House and Thrift Store – I bought my bedroom set here. They have a wide assortment of stuff and are fair in dealing with customers. Additionally, they had the entire thing delivered in 20 minutes for only $25. Plus, all proceeds go to benefit the substance abuse treatment facility attached.

Leave a Reply

